X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• thinking of returning

I am thinking of rejoining the Army, but in the National Guard. I am prior service 1993 to 2002, 5 years of it active, the rest reserves. I left as an E5. I am 39 now, but as I understand the years of service will minus from actual age. But I have several questions...

1. I was a combat medic 91B20 (now discontinued MOS identifier). However, my last couple years in reserve I worked as a 74B20 pending a training date to do the 74B AIT, but I ETS'd before I got to that AIT. My AARTS transcripts and discharge paperwork note the 74B20 job, just not the AIT. Would I have any trouble getting back into this 74B MOS (think its now 25B ??), and getting a training date? If I could get it, would I possible qualify for the re-class short-course AIT? I was hoping they would use my old MOS, I have a degree with a minor in computer science, and work in IT field and have A+ certs if that matters.

2. Would I have to attend BASIC again?

3. Would I have to take ASVAB again? I still have hard copies of my last 2 ASVABs when I joined Active and Reserves, but they are old. Its not a huge problem, although I probably won't remember a lick of Algebra, but I will probably ace everything else.

I will pass height/weight and APFT no problem. But what other worries might I need to consider?

Thanks in Advance!

I am not a recruiter and a recruiter may post on current prior service recruiting policy or it may be easy if you just call or visit a NG recruiter.

BTW, I am a Signal Warrant Officer and you most likely have to re-take the ASVAB. With those new scores, it will determine what jobs are available near you in your state. Since you been out for more than five years, you will have to retake basic. You can search on this forum and it will tell you that.