X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• prior service usmc reserve...

I've got a few questions. First, I was honorably discharged from the Marine Corps Reserve (final including irr) in 2010 as an E4. Male, 31, all other requirements met. Recently noticed an opening posted for an MP unit near my home (right outside Fort Jackson). I have been a civilian police officer for several years, and am considering further inquiry, but before I give my phone number to a recruiter, I wondered if anyone could give me the short version on what initial training will be required, if grade/time in grade are retained, and anything else you think is worth mentioning. I appreciate your time and input.

I was prior service Army and have been a civilian police officer for almost twenty years. I came back in a few years ago (2011) when they needed more bodies. You should be able to keep your rank (E-4) but usually your date of rank restarts when you reenlist. This changes year to year so definitely speak with a recruiter. You will not have to go to basic if you are prior Army or USMC. You will go back through MEPS then your unit will send you to a NG school to re class as a 31B (MP). Hopefully not too much has changed since I reenlisted. Good luck.

Comment