X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Switch from Active duty to National guard

Currently I am 11B qualified in the active duty army. 3 weeks out of OSUT and ready to start an awesome military career but found out that my battalion isn't deploying for the entire 36 months that Im stationed here and that means I wont deploy my entire career. I don't plan on re enlisting because I was looking forward to returning home and going to school and eventually starting a business. Since I am not deploying I feel as though I am being "cheated" so to speak out of the experience that I signed up for. My current question is this; is it possible for me to switch to national guard from active duty so I can enter a commission program and become an officer. I understand that as an officer I will be forced to extend my contract but the more benefits open to me outweighs the longer obligation to the military. I joined to serve my country, and I feel that sitting here working in motor-pool and picking up cigarette butts from the lawn isn't doing that in the slightest. I need answers, not people telling me that Im giving up or wasting an opportunity, I have already considered that and plan on moving forward with this anyway. Any information would be helpful, thank you very much.

You would need to discuss your options, if any, with your Chain of Command...PERIOD. Because if your unit/active duty is not willing to release you from your contract, there is nothing the Guard can do for you.

Comment

• Chief Kemosabe
      Chief Kemosabe commented
      Editing a comment
      I bet all my pay that they will not even consider a request from someone who is just a few months into his contract. He will get smoked for even asking.