X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miracle? getting back in ?

background, 9 years in the Guard, E-5 when I went to IRR in 92, ETS expired in 97. The medical problem I have is sleep apnea. I had the big surgery in 2007. It didn't work. Now, I've got a better ENT doc. She will most likely suggest I have a Septoplasty, which is another surgery, to remove a mass behind my nose which is causing my sleep apnea.

Let's say a miracle occurs and after the surgery I can pass a sleep test 100%, with no episodes of waking up during the night. Then the body starts to naturally want to get back to the weight it is supposed to be, and I work out like crazy. I already eat reasonably well. I lose 30+ pounds. At that point I would be a 49 year old prior serviceman within 10 pounds of the height/weight table.

I believe I would have to go to basic? No problem, I've got time. I'm a teacher. Also, physical fitness level, no problem. I found out in 2010 that I have the heart of an athlete. I trained for several months and ran a half-marathon.

I would agree to any MOS I could qualify for.

This reminds me of the funny saying, in that movie that I can't remember. One guy is talking about how the chances are like a million to one, and so the other guy says "So, you're saying there's a chance?"

Thanks

Re: Miracle? getting back in ?

The movie is Dumb and Dumber. You been posting here for a while and you are still trying to get in. That is amazing. Did you get your sleep apnea while serving? That is (what I heard) and automatic 50 percent rating from the VA.

Comment