X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is reenlistment possible for me?

Long story...please let me know if you have any information on my chances of reenlisting.

My NAVY service began in July of 2003. I entered as an E2 through the delayed entry program in the advanced electronics program. I graduated basic with a meritorious advancement to E3. Several months later during "A" school, me and two other shipmates traveled to Ohio on liberty. We were late getting back and received 45 days restriction for the event.

A couple months later, a shipmate borrowed my car for the weekend while I was not able to leave. He returned without my car as it broke down in Ohio (I was in Illinois) and I applied for leave to go retrieve my car. Because of my previous discipline, my leave was denied. I was upset and went UA for 2 weeks. When I returned on my own, I received restriction, loss of pay and rank. I started seeing a psychologist on base and it was not helping my anger with the situation. In a discussion with my petty officer, he gave me some information on what to do if I really wanted to get out. Following the information I wrote down for the psychologist that I felt I was a danger to myself and others. I was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder and discharged in July 2004 with an Other than Honorable Administrative Separation, RE-4.

I'm now 28 years old, and for the last 10 years have felt the guilt every time I see a service member. I have a good job and make good money so reenlistment for me is not about having a job, it's about being part of the service like I always wanted. I have to live with the disgust and guilt every day and I want a chance to serve my country and make things right.

Re: Is reenlistment possible for me?

In this current environment with the military. Your chances are slim to none.