Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello, yet another prior service waiver thread.

I am prior service Army National Guard (Honorably Discharged) and prior service USMC (General under honorable conditions). My USMC discharge is RE-3p (JFX1), I was told I have a pre-existing condition, anxiety disorder. This was way back in early 2007. (I both deployed while I was in the ARNG and discharged with an RE-1). A few years have passed and I am attending school part time (I still receive G.I Bill benefits because I served in OIF 3) and I am a full time police officer. I really want to get back in the military, but everywhere I look I can barely get a recruiter to give me the time of day. I understand that a waiver would be required, and I am very happy with my civilian employment, but any insight would be appreciated.

Re: Hello, yet another prior service waiver thread.

How did you get a General Under Honorable? Did you receive NJPs and/or involuntary separated?

Comment

Involuntary separated, I transferred from the ARNG to the USMC almost directly after returning home. I will admit to being depressed at the time and, at the recommendation of the chaplin (which I regret to this day) I spoke with a psychiatrist, which led from one thing to another. Not going to blame it on anything other than myself, but I saw a way out and I took it. I do not regret my time in the USMC, and again I get to put on another uniform every day to serve my country honorably, but I miss a lot of the structure and discipline in the military. (I even honestly miss some of the clusters lol)

Comment

Well, understand that with the current draw-down recruiting demands have changed and a PS that requires a waiver may not afford a recruiter the proper motivation to assist. I suggest that you seek ARNG and Army Reserve recruiters and discuss them your intentions on why you will be an excellent asset returning to Guard service.

Comment