X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Status after NG service

I am often asked if I am a veteran. I served in the NG from 1976 to 1984 and received an honerable d/c. If I am not a veteran what am I. How do you answer that question since during that time I could have been activated if the need arose to serve my country. I ofter feel uncomfortable answereing this question. What can my children put on college applications etc. with there father's status. Am I entitled to any benefits. Thank you.

Re: Status after NG service

Originally posted by John D. Riccione View Post
    I am often asked if I am a veteran. I served in the NG from 1976 to 1984 and received an honerable d/c. If I am not a veteran what am I. How do you answer that question since during that time I could have been activated if the need arose to serve my country. I ofter feel uncomfortable answereing this question. What can my children put on college applications etc. with there father's status. Am I entitled to any benefits. Thank you.
    Currently, if you never served on active duty (outside of Basic and AIT and two-weeks annual training), the term "veteran" is not applicable. I would respond that I am not a veteran per current definition but have served in the Army National Guard for 8 years.

There is current legislation enabling that title be carried forward to Reserve component members; so good luck. But that is for only Reserve component members who complete 20 years of service and never was federally activated; not 8. Again, it is not about the title but if it brings forth certain entitlements and privileges; then so be it. The last four years, current politics has been moving towards that direction in giving everyone their due; even if they have not earned it or it was tradition since the beginning of man.

http://www.ngaus.org/newsroom/news/v...roduced-senate <--Link