X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prior service USMC into Guard

I actually still am in the Marines, I am an 0311 infatryman, at the rank of LCpl E-3, most likely gonna be promoted to E-4 before I EAS. I EAS around the end of 2013, possibly the Beginning of 2014 depending on the VEERP.
    I am looking into the Guard while I am a Student and I would like to know about:
    # promotions
    # will I be able to stay permanent at my local guard armory
    # what are my requirements

Thank you for your help
    -Reynolds
    Last edited by reynoldsusmc; November 28th, 2012, 03:06 PM.

Re: Prior service USMC into Guard

Originally posted by reynoldsusmc View Post
    I actually still am in the Marines, I am an 0311 infatryman, at the rank of LCpl E-3, most likely gonna be promoted to E-4 before I EAS. I EAS around the end of 2013, possibly the Beginning of 2014 depending on the VEERP.
    I am looking into the Guard while I am a Student and I would like to know about:
    # promotions

Thank you for your help
    -Reynolds
    As long as you're able to maintain your height/weight and pass the pt test, promotions will come, at least up to E-5. After E-5 it will become competitive. A few things you can do to make yourself more promotable, do well in pt, weapons qual, continue your civilian education, and work on army correspondence courses. Promotions are based on a point system and all of the previous are taken into account along with time in service, time in grade, awards and your leadership evaluation.

Ask your local Recruiter which MOS has the best opportunity for promotion, you can keep your current MOS or change it. Ensure all your USMC awards are on your DD214 and they don't screw you with a bad RE (re-enlistment eligibility) code. I've seen good Marines get discharged with an RE-3 for no apparent reason.

Comment

# promotions

Thank you for your help
      -Reynolds