X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 96B to 19 or 11-series Officer?

Like many, I apologize if my question has been addressed elsewhere on this forum. Have been unable to find exactly what I'm looking for and was hoping someone could either guide me to the correct answer or discuss.

I'm a former tactical intelligence analyst (figure most of us know it as 96B, so we'll stick with that) with 4 years Active and 4-ish years* with the drilling Reserves. Would be interested in joining the Guard if there were a chance I could commission into a combat arms branch. Prefer armor or infantry, but would be willing to consider artillery. The four-year degree was in-hand already when I enlisted and as of right now I'm sitting just shy of a 2-year break in service.

I did 2 years with a mech. infantry unit while Active, so I've got a basic notion what the change will entail. Most curious to know (a) if the Guard - specifically VA or MD - would push to keep me in intelligence and thus deny the move to a new specialty and (b) if doing the MOS change with a commissioning is a bridge too far.

At present, I'm stationed overseas. The plan would be to engage with a recruiter on returning to CONUS, but so long as I'm stuck here I figured I should pulse you good folks to see if my aspirations were even do-able.

Many thanks in advance for your thoughts/insights.

V/R,

mack

*- More on this if it matters; suffice to say I spent some of that time deployed doing other DoD work as a civilian.

Re: 96B to 19 or 11-series Officer?

All the other criterion non withstanding, your enlisted Intel MOS has no direct bearing on your potential basic branch selection. Every state determines branch assignment in its own way and is directly dependent on position avalibility versus number of applicants. I often tell prospects to be sold on officership rather than a specific branch.

Comment

Originally posted by Mongoose772 View Post