X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2LT in EN (Sapper) company

I'm at FOCS right now and just received my branch/unit assignment from my state, Engineer in a Sapper company. With it being a Sapper company, should I expect to be required/encouraged to go to Sapper School?

Re: 2LT in EN (Sapper) company

Originally posted by refcorp View Post
    I'm at FOCS right now and just received my branch/unit assignment from my state, Engineer in a Sapper company. With it being a Sapper company, should I expect to be required/encouraged to go to Sapper School?
    Whether you will go or not depends on your State's funding.

Comment

Being a recent EBOLC graduate, I can tell you that:

A. Timing is everything - there are only so many Sapper slots/year. The final SLC class start date of the FY was one day before my EBOLC graduation. No one, regardless of component, was able to attend.

B. Funding - your state probably doesn't have it.

That being said, you can still participate in Pre-Sapper/Pre-Ranger training during the course. In the end its about the knowledge, not the tab.

Comment

It all comes down to the state. Its easier to get Ranger School slots for states then it is SLC. Every year I get told I'm going to SLC, every year I'm told there is no funding lol. It really does come down to timing. We sent one of our LT's a few years ago. He finished EBOLC right before the end of the fiscal year and happened to be at the top of his graduating class in EBOLC. So active duty Army secured a slot for him to attend and the state had some funds they had to spend at the end of the fiscal. Perfect marriage of hard work and luck. So in the last 5 years my company has sent a grand total of 1 soldier to SLC.

Comment