X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accelerated OCS graduation rate

What is the success rate in Accelerated OCS?

Re: Accelerated OCS graduation rate

I have heard that it is somewhere in the 98% area. When I was looking into the program about 4 years ago this was the average number I found. At the time Land Nav was the number 1 factor that led people to not complete the course. That may have changed and someone on here may have more recent stats, but I believe AOCS has a very high graduation rate.

Comment

Originally posted by EasternShoreman View Post
      What is the success rate in Accelerated OCS?
      This is obviously anecdotal, but I graduated from AOCS in 2007 and the only people who didn't make it were either total retards or pansies. If you have an ounce of competence and a smidgen of motivation, you are going to graduate. That doesn't necessarily mean it's a good time, however.

Comment

I read about a water combat course that makes me nervous.

Comment

In OCS you do a water survival course, if you can call it that. You have to swim a short distance in ACU's while holding a dummy M16 over your head, you have to jump in the water with a load bearing vest (LBV), take it off and swim to the side, and jump off a high dive (feet first) blind folded while holding an M16, take off the blindfold and swim to the side.

We had people in our class who didn't know how to swim and they did a remedial swimming class prior to them doing these 3 excercises. None of them failed it. It is very simple and easy. Now if your thinking of flight school or special operations then there are much more intense water survival courses, but for OCS it is very simple and all you have to do is attempt them to pass. If you sink to the bottom they have life guards to pull you up. You attempted and so you passed.

Comment