X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TN Guard

I am 27 yrs old I have a BS degree in Homeland Security/Criminal Justice. I was wondering if I were to join the guard I know i would go to boot then AIT and then OCS if Im correct. I was wondering if OCS is by a units need or if they would would send me to OCS and then assign me to a unit. If you can give me any information on the process I would greatly appreciate it.

Re: TN Guard

One potential path is to sign up in the Guard as a 09S. This will send you to Boot and then you will come back to your home state and either do OCS through the traditional program or accelerated program. Upon completion and receiving your promotion to 2LT you will then be assigned to a unit where you will do some follow-on training for your specific branch (AIT for Officers, called BOLC).

Another option (and there are many) is to sign up as enlisted and go to boot, then AIT. Upon completion of AIT you will be assigned to unit. Then once with that unit you can work with your readiness NCO to apply for the OCS program. I signed up as 09S so I don't have much information on this course of action as I do with the 09S option.

Both have their pro's and con's. Do some more research, ask questions and decide which path is best for you.

Comment

You're mostly right...the branch assigment is done by vacancies/needs of the state. You'll get your branch assignment at some point near the end of OCS which will be followed by a unit assignment.

Comment

Can I get some more information on the O9S information. I believe it is a 5 year contract that I would sign to be an 2lt with the national guard is that correct.

Comment