X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working for the guard without pay

I have read a few threads around here about people asking if they should go AWOL, give their command the finger, call an IG etc etc. Not really looking for anything that crazy if I can avoid it.

Here is my issue: I am a drilling National Guardsman and am semi-continuously being "not ordered" to complete tasks; military training, pt (I am not a failure), or go to my NCOs gym (he is the owner/proprietor) outside of scheduled drilling time. While I can't argue with PTing being a good thing, I can argue with basically all of the rest of it. So my question is, can I be ordered by an NCO (e-5) to preform training activities outside of regular drilling schedule without compensation?

I have looked into orders on this and am finding them vague, but as I am new to the Army I am not precisely well versed on where to look.

Re: Working for the guard without pay

Like signing the head count sheet or participating in RMA, very technically, no you don't have to but there is a consequence. You're probably going to end up doing death by PowerPoint briefs for topics that you can whip out a far shorter time on your own, then out doing the cool stuff you signed up for. Also, if you do it on your own some of it may count for promotion points or you can get retirement points out of it. Or worse, I had a battalion commander put out that if the Soldiers didn't do the briefings, then feed them a MRE and keep them until 2200. It's your choice.

Just my opinion, but to be successful and get promoted, you're going to have to stuff on your own time. This is why I get annoyed with NCOs and Officers who don't want to do anything but show up to drill.

Comment

Without specifics as to what is being ordered, it's hard to give a straight answer.