X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tranfer from Army Reserves to National Guard

Can I transfer from the Army Reserve to the National Guard after being discharged (honorable)? I'm an officer who has exceeded the MRD for Active Reserve Status.

Re: Tranfer from Army Reserves to National Guard

Originally posted by Nikegler View Post
    Can I transfer from the Army Reserve to the National Guard after being discharged (honorable)? I'm an officer who has exceeded the MRD for Active Reserve Status.
    Is that short for "mandatory retirement date"? LTC Ritchie is probably your best source for the question. Although it's been said that it is hard for USAR officers to transfer into the ARNG compared to the other way around.

Comment

Sir

Your mandatory removal date should be after 20 year commissioned service as a Captain, 24 for a Major, 28 for a LTC, and 30 for COL...OR 60 years of age. I'm not exactly sure what you mean by "Active Reserve Status", although I will assume you mean a actively drilling reservist versus (non-AGR), an AGR Title 10 Reservist. Mandatory Removal dates are by definition...well, mandatory. Switching components shouldn't effect an officer's MRD (unless you've resigned your commission and are looking to reappoint in which case it can be adjusted (but not beyond 60). The only time I've heard this come up is if an officer is twice non-selected for promotion, in which case the 28 years (the default), is adjusted down to the current rank. If I'm correct you can NOT submit a MRD extension request AFTER the fact, so unless LTC Ritchie has a rabbit up his sleeve, my guess is that you are out of luck. Anyone else have anything?

Comment

Originally posted by Nikegler View Post
        If you've reached your MRD, then you may not serve as an officer in the Guard. Depending on your age and other factors, you may have eligibility to serve as an enlisted Soldier, and retire at the highest grade honorably held.