X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enlisting in an MOS other than one comparable to your civilian career

Hi, I'm an 18 year old male, enlisting in the (Ohio) National Guard in the upcoming weeks. I went to a 2 year joint-vocational school for Chef & Restaurant Management training in my upperclassmen years of high school, I have been working in high-end restaurants for about 2 years, and I also am Servsafe certified, as well as being certified in food safety in the state of Ohio.
    Here's the thing, I've done a lot of homework on the 92G MOS, and talked to a few current Guardsmen who work with 92G's. The general consensus seems to be that its more of a "poop & scoop" type job, no real glory, and its kind of like being a cafeteria lunch-lady (No disrespect to all the people in said MOS). Is there anyone who can shed some light into that? On the other hand, my grandpa was a Master-at-Arms in the Navy, my father was an MP in the Army Reserves, and my whole childhood I pretty much dreamed about following in their footsteps and enlisting as an MP. My dad likes the idea but also thinks it would benefit me to enlist as something that I can continue with outside of the Army. But really, my heart is telling me to go 31B, fulfill my duties to the best of my ability, and when I'm discharged, that would be the end of my police career. Is this a reasonable idea, or would I be better off just saying screw it and enlisting as a 92G?
    I don't know how accurate and up to date the website job finder is, but it said there is a 92G opening in the city I live in, and a 31B opening in the town my dad works in about an hour away. I have no problem traveling a little further if I would enjoy that MOS a lot better.
    Thank you for your time.