Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 31B Questions (Military Police)

Greetings everyone!

My name is Travis, I am 20 years old, currently living in Florida. I am currently looking in to the National Guard as a way to get my life started. I am majoring in Law Enforcement, Corrections and so forth. I wish to become a Federal Agent in my future. I have done some research, but I am still left with questions of my own. I am not looking for a magical path to be laid out in front of me.

I read about the National Guard having a MP field you can enter in to, however I have a lot of questions.

With the National Guard, it says you are paid for training, you get guard pay (when you are called for service?) and paid for drilling.
    -My question, is this all you have too do when you join the NG?

Career Choice
    -I wish to become a MP, is this basically my new career (job within the NG)? Do I work 40 hours a week doing so? Or is this something that only happens when I am called for serve?

MOS Guarantee
    -It has been on my mind since I first looked in to the Military Police, I was wondering if there is any guarantee you can pursue this upon entry or if it is more of the "luck of a draw."

I am going to contact a recruiter relatively soon, however, I wanted to see if perhaps any of my peers could enlighten me on what to expect.

Thank you for your time,

Travis
    Last edited by Travis Van Vliet; February 6th, 2012, 03:45 PM.

Re: 31B Questions (Military Police)

I was an Armp MP but we have a JAG NCO on this forum that can better answer your questions. If you enlist in the Guard, your commitment is one weekend a month and two-weeks annual training unless deployed or called for state emergencies or missions.
    Last edited by Chief Kemosabe; February 6th, 2012, 05:04 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by fmcityslicker View Post