Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is the National Guard granting ADHD waiversm?

Hi my name is Kevin I'm 20 and I'm currently a senior in college majoring in accounting(will take CPA exam after graduation). After I graduate this year I would like to enlist in the National Guard as a linguist. However I was diagnosed with ADHD at around age 12 and I was on and off Adderall until 2010 when I graduated high school. I never needed it to function properly and in 2011 my psychiatrist declared me ADHD free. I also went through college without using it or any special accommodations. I recently visited an Army Reserve recruiter(he was closest) and he told me that although I am an exceptional candidate otherwise my former ADHD is a huge barrier to joining.He also told me that there is a one year minimum after you get off the drugs and by the time I will start the process I would be drug free for about 3 years. My stats are a 2.2 GPA in high school and a 3.1 GPA in college(so far). I have no criminal record(except two speeding tickets), history of drug use or tattoos, or any other medical issues that would require a waiver. I am also fluent in Mandarin, Cantonese and Korean so the ARNG wouldn't need to train me in that regard.
    My questions are:
    Is the National Guard(or any military branch for that matter) granting medical waivers currently or in the near future?
    Would the fact that I would have a college degree and knowledge of 3 "hard to learn" languages give recruiters and MEPS to give me a waiver?
    Also in the meantime what can I do to make myself a more attractive candidate for the Guard?

I really just want to serve my country so any advice would be appreciated. Also I checked the forums for questions with similar circumstances as mine and I can't find any but if missed any threads I apologize. Thank you for your time and responses!