X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice Please

I am a 33 year old married man with a wife and 3 kids. I am currently finishing my Accounting degree online which gives me wonderful flexibility. I have always wanted to serve the military

but got tied up in the family business from a young age and never made the leap. I have a few questions.

First I would like to give some info. I have been running a chain of family owned auto repair shops since I was in my teens and need a career change. I have a lot of experience in

management, supply chain, budgeting, human resources, legal compliance, and most importantly able to keep 40+ blue collar mechanics in line and running efficiently and profitably. Also I have

spent a lot of time turning the wrenches so I have mechanical knowledge and ability. My wife and I have been married for 8 years and have a strong relationship. She is independent and very

capable of running the home alone if I am away. I am a very driven person and am able to handle a family, career and full time college of which I only have about 3 to 5 semesters left. It is all

online so I will be able to continue while in the military. I have a dream to serve in Washington on military budget committees on behalf of the soldiers. I know Washington is a longshot but one

has to dream and push forward. I would like to peruse an officer’s career but this is not a must. My Questions are as follows:

1. Is a career in the military still available to me?

2. Am I eligible to be an officer candidate (I am referring primarily to age)?

3. How much strain in your opinion will this put on a family by choosing this career path?

4. In your opinion is this a “pipe dream” and should I drop it and stay in the family business.

Thanks for your time
    Pete

Re: Advice Please

Originally posted by greek22 View Post
    My Questions are as follows:

1. Is a career in the military still available to me?