X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joining the Guard...

I just turned 27 in October. I've always wanted to serve in the NG, but college and relationships kept me occupied. I've never stopped wanting to serve, and now I have made some changes in my life, the first thought was to join. I have a business degree and have been working in the Aviation/Aerospace Industry since I graduated. I'm currently in the process of moving to Vancouver, WA. I'm still in the process of moving, so I haven't had a change to speak to a recruiter--can this be accomplished via Phone/Email. I noticed you can enlist online, just curious how the process works.

Now for the questions. I've done my research and I have some great friends who are currently in the NG and have been a wealth of knowledge. I keep telling myself 27 is not too old, but I find myself worrying when I see 17/18 YO talking about their enlistment. How will the experience differ--Am I going to feel 'old' at 27? I'm in shape, I don't have any problems meeting the requirements, although the course at BT looks pretty intimidating.

How does basic training work with male/female? I'm assuming females bunk,etc today, but we all work as a group/team when it comes to the daily activities?

Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

Re: Joining the Guard...

You cannot enlist online. You can do the application online and speak with a Recruiter via phone/email.

Concerning your age, the most difficult part for you will be dealing with the immaturity of those 17 & 18 yr olds. To avoid the young enlistees, avoid shipping to BCT in the summer months.

Depending on your MOS, your training could be coed. Fraternization in BCT is highly frowned upon.

Comment

wiseb214,

I too am the same age. I was 26 when I first joined and now I'm 27. I kind of was in the same boat.