X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Field artillery promotions

I am considering enlisting in field artillery as a 13B. I was wondering if any soldiers here could give me some insight on promotions in FA. I know that promotions up to SPC are automatic so I'm asking about promotion to E-5 and E-6. As in which MOS's in the 13 series promotes E-4's to E-5's, E-5's to E-6's more often. I won't lie by saying that increased pay is not a major reason as I am a college student. But I am also seriously considering a career in the Army/National Guard so I don't want to be in a MOS that has few NCO slots. One of my buddies says that cavalry and infantry get promoted more often than FA, can anyone confirm or deny?

Re: Field artillery promotions

That all depends on your state. If your state has 10 infantry units and only 3 artillery units, then it would seem that infantry has more options for promotion and thus promote more people. Honestly, you are looking very far down the road worrying about E6 promotions before you even enlisted. But if this is something that will help you make your decision then you should ask your recruiter how many units of each are in the state and also the locations of them. If there are 2 artillery units withing a 100 miles of where you live, but only 1 infantry unit within 200 miles of you, then you would probably be better off going artillery so you could possibly look at promotions without having to travel so far. Again, this is looking very far down the road and you should just focus on the 50 meter target, which is enlisting and completing training.

Comment