X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Couple of Questions: Waviers and Debt

I am a 30 year old male with no prior service. I have a 4 year degree (geography = worthless) and am wanting to join either the Air or Army Guard as either an Officer or Enlisted. My joining is more about service, challenging myself and doing something meaningful than having a shinny metal bar vs a couple of stripes.

I am interested in MP/Security Forces, maintenance or transportation. I have always considered joining the military, my parents talked me out of a ROTC scholarship for college, which I still regret. While I do not want to fly for the military I do have over 1500 hours of flight time, 1000 of which is as first officer in Learjet 20, 30 and 50 series aircraft, so I might lean toward the Air Guard since I'm used to being around air ops. I have no criminal record, heck I haven't even had a speeding ticket since I was 19.

My possible problems:

1) My wife and I have a considerable amount of debt, 90% of which is student loans from college and technical (flight) school. By considerable I mean over 200K. I have no late payments, have never defaulted and decent credit. However, my wife missed a few payments before we were married or even met. Will her history effect me at all? I realize debt can effect clearances, do MPs or Security Forces require a TS clearance?

2) I was taking an anti-depressant for anxiety which stemmed from changing careers, money issues and marital issues surrounding money and having a kid. I was on them for around a year, but have been off them for a couple of months with my doctors knowledge and have no continuing problems. I know that you have to be off of them for a year to even start the enlistment process but my question is, would this make it harder to get an officer slot? I want to enlist either way, but an officer slot would mean a little more money which never hurts.

Thank you for your time and help,