X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Waivers Post-Iraq

I'm interested in joining the Iowa National Guard, but I have a sorted past. I have a history with one ulcer and two periods where I had depression. I had it through a majority of high school and for roughly a year of college with time in between. I've been off medication for over 2 years and while I'm not a doctor, I consider both of them to be situational. I realize to a MEPS/armed forces CO position this would look bad as a seriously mental issue that has the potential to be reoccurring, but I have complete and total faith that it will not (the same can be said for the ulcer). What would be the appropriate steps to go about getting all of this cleared and be in the best position to go through the entire waiver process? I'd ask a recruiter, but any recruiter I've talked to for any branch has just told me to lie...

I believe my potential to maintain a depressionless life is due to my overall life progress. I have lost over 100 pounds and kept it off, I've never had or currently have any thoughts of harming myself, and I've overcome a lot. I understand it's scary for men in the field to think the man next to them has struggled mentally, but it not so much about how many times you got knocked down, but how many times you got back up?

Re: Waivers Post-Iraq