Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Asvab question

Hello all,

Got a quick question about the asvab. I'm trying to go CA ANG. I've been studying for the asvab, only issue is that I'm not very good at math. I was wondering if its possible to obtain a 50 by passing the arithmetic reasoning (AR) portion on the asvab? I know the most important part of the test is the AFQT. Which is the four sections including word knowledge, arithmetic reasoning, math knowledge ( algebra) and paragraph comprehension.

I've been reading the Asvab for dummies book, and they state according to their research. You only have about a 1:12 min per question, so obviously you gotta 'move with a purpose'.

Thanks,

Re: Asvab question

If you have the ASVAB for Dummies book then you should do well. I too am terribly bad bad bad at math. No, seriously. I failed math several times in high school, and it took me three times to pass College Algebra. My brain just does not function that way. Worry not! I took the computer ASVAB and found that the math questions were MUCH easier than what was in the Dummies book, and I had lots of time.

My advice to you is, just keep taking those practice tests over and over until you have a decent grasp. Be sure to study FOIL....lots of those questions. There were a couple questions on the ASVAB that maybe I didn't work out properly in Algebra, but I was still able to figure out the answer. Remember 2 of the questions are totally wrong, so that should give you 50/50 there. Just breathe and relax and take your time!! Don't worry about the countdown....you get a total amount of time per question, its not like you only get 1:12 to answer then you must move on.

I was striving to get a 104 on my GT for 68W and ended up getting 120 and qualifying for 12Y. Good luck!

Comment

Originally posted by Solrider View Post