X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First RSP-O

As briefly discussed in another thread, I attended my first RSP-O drill this past weekend. It was a very positive experience. Saturday a.m. started off with the APFT. I've been training for about six months specifically against the Army PT standards, and this old dude rocked that PT test like it was 1992 again. Well, enough bragging...

After the PT test & hygiene, we reported to the classroom and delivered 20-minute leadership presentations to the cadre and the other candidates using Power Point, demonstrating how a well-known figure from history measured up against FM 6-22 Appendix A, "Leader Attributes & Core Leader Competencies". Very interesting and highly successful. The young SGT before me profiled George Washington, while I did John Adams. A nice coincidence that wasn't planned beforehand, but it was good to tie in the first two POTUS and prominent Founding Fathers of our nation.

Sat p.m. was classroom Land Nav training. Great refresher after a decade of being out of the Guard. HVRSD CSD, 5 primary colors on maps, intersection, resection, back azimuth, coverting grid --> magnetic, etc. etc. etc.

Sunday a.m. started with a 3-mile release run. A good way to start any day. I find that at age 38, my knees don't even start to get loosened up until I've hit 2 or 3 miles.

Sunday p.m. was spent out in the woods doing practical Land Nav in pairs. I'm more sore from climbing up and down the nearly vertical shale and clay walls-O-earth than any of the PT. A very good time though, and very successful in brushing off the Land Nav rust that had formed over the past 10 years. Luckily I was paired with a PFC just back from BCT, and he was sharp as a tack with this stuff and was able to get me squared away.