X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Worried about getting let go.

Hello all. First off let me introduce my self. I am a 28 year Police Officer who joined the Guard in March. I have been attending the RSP drills. Not the most exciting thing but it's what I have to do. I ship in November. Ok, well here lies my problem. In June, at work, I had an incident which may have sealed the military off for me. A short narrative of what happened, I was enroute to a call when I spotted a burning mobile home. It had just started, I went in the mobile home park and started moving the looky lous out. Half way in someone tells me three children are trapped inside. Without regard to my own safety I ran into the mobile home and was over come by smoke, fire, and heat. I broke a rear window to the mobile home that was high up and could hear the kids screaming. While pulling my self in the window the fire flashed me, I fell from the window and landed on my left wrist. I did not realize I was in between two mobile homes that were fully engulfed and a large tree. I inhaled alot of black smoke. Sadly, the kids perished and something I think about to this day. It was just impossible to get to them. I had to go to an ambulance to get checked out. I was not transported. Since that day I have noticed once in a while a tightness in my chest and I struggle to catch my breath. Nothing like I am going to die but just struggling for my breath. I take shallow breaths. I can still go about my business but it has caused me concern. My sleep has gotten pretty bad as well. I wake up constantly because I am not breathing well due to my nose. (I had a deviated septum surgery in 2005 which was disclosed to meps and they have all paper work). My left wrist has been hurting since that day and I struggle to do push ups. Now, I am in good shape and have never had medical issues except stitches. I went to the doctor just to get checked out in spite of everyone telling