Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Navy O-3 to Army NG CWO-1?

Hello, and thanks for the great forum.

After talking to three different recruiters I'm more confused than ever about the process of switching from USN active duty LT to National Guard CWO. My goal is to become an aviation warrant officer-- do I need to go Navy O to NG enlisted to NG CWO? That seems very convoluted although I would happily go down that road if necessary.

The recruiters I have spoken to (In TX, CA, and HI) have given me really mixed messages about the process.
    My info-
    28yo
    Gas Turbine Engineer, Surface Warfare Officer
    6 years of sea time
    about 190 hours of flight time (currently working on commercial license)
    0-3, great evals
    300+ pft score
    TS/SCI

I have a lot of experience with aviation operations besides just my flying time- I was the air officer for an air capable destroyer, as well as air facilities and safety officer.

I'm only about a month from signing my DD 214 (honorable discharge) and I'd like to set something solid up with the National Guard before that ink is dry because I have a gut feeling that this all gets MUCH more complicated afterwards. Can anyone here shed some light on what processes I should be engaging? Thank you so much.
    Last edited by FlyingSquid; June 8th, 2013, 02:51 PM.

Re: Navy O-3 to Army NG CWO-1?

As a Chief Warrant Officer, I always had to correct the Warrant Officer 1 interpretation as WO1 not CWO1 or CW1. A Warrant Officer is not a Chief until they get promoted to CW2. The US Navy does not have a WO1 grade. They all start at CWO2 because I guess a newly pinned Warrant does not want to get trumped by the E-7 "Chief" Petty Officer lol.

You will have to resign your commission to pursue the WOFT program. A WO Strength Manager in the state that you are interested in flying can provide more details.
    Last edited by Chief Kemosabe; June 8th, 2013, 04:34 PM.

Comment