Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doctor wanting to go National Guard SF

To whomever this may apply to,
    I'm currently a resident doctor in my last year of residency in Texas. I spent 4 years on active duty right after high school. I was a medic. Currently I am in the NG and would like to pursue the SF route via the NG way. I have no interest in wanting to become an officer(not that I don't respect them) . I love being enlisted and would like to stay enlisted. My question is, would I be able to pursue an SF background, while i'm still a doctor on the civilian side? I've asked around and have never really got a straight answer back, due to no one else really being in my position. Another question that I have is, if i were able to go through the pipe line would I have to be an SF medic? because to be quite honest, I really don't want to. I have a Doctorate in medicine and was a Combat Medic( with a tour in Afghanistan ). I don't want to seem asinine but I would really like to learn another trade( not because I don't like the medical field but because I want to learn something else for my own personal goals and dreams). but to be honest, id go anywhere if it were with a Tab. even if it were to become an SF medic. Any intel would suffice. thank you very much for you consideration.

Re: Doctor wanting to go National Guard SF

You don't have to be an officer if you don't want to nor are you required to be a medic.

The gist of it is that they will asses you and assign you a position (Demo, Medic, Weapons, etc) during your training. SF Hunter will chime in to give a more detailed answer.

Now, you have to realize that being a doctor and a SF operator could cause some time conflicts. Especially on the doctor side. Will you be able to take off 3-5 weeks at the drop of a hat for a mission? Can your medical career afford the 2 years off that is required for SF training?

Comment

Re: Doctor wanting to go National Guard SF