Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joining the Guard or Army

Hello All,

I am new to this site and looking for solid advice/information. I just turned 30 this year in October and want to join either the Army or the National Guard. My Army recruiter has not been so aggressive about signing me up and this may be a sign of the times, but now I am looking at the National Guard in Maryland as an option. I have several questions.

1) I would like to try out for Special Forces and know that they accept 20-30 yrs of age into the program. I have never served before, so I am wondering if I would allowed to enlist and try out for SF. I am in great shape, workout 4-5 days a week, 5'10"/172lbs.

2) Because of my age and no prior service, would I be a good candidate for OCS? I have a college degree and applicable work experience.

3) If these options 1 & 2 are not favorable, then I would like to enlist as a 31B.

Any thoughts?

Regards,

B

Re: Joining the Guard or Army

What do you want more OCS or Special Forces? If you go OCS then you will commision into a branch and then have to wait for a few years until you can go to SFAS. Read the sticky in this section about SF and the requirements for officers. If you really want to go for SF then I suggest doing it enlisted as the options and opportunities are better.

What do you want more active duty Army or Army National Guard? The differences between the two are pretty big. If your active duty recruiter sucks then talk to a different recruiter. The active army has the 18X program which allows new recruits to enlist into the Army, go to basic, AIT, airborne school and SFAS right off the bat. Its the quickest way to Special Forces.

Comment