Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thoughts on joining?

Hi folks,

I am new and found this forum while searching for information on joining the Guard. Thanks for the wealth of information. I am 29 years old and a licensed attorney employed as an associate at a very well regarded firm. I have five years of post-law school experience. My ability to go in as a JAG officer isn't necessarily a deal breaker, and I understand that the slots in my state (Tennessee) are somewhat limited. With that being said, I would very much appreciate any thoughts on the following:

1. The relative flexibility (insofar as time commitments outside of deployment are concerned) is what appeals to me. With that being said, what kind of time commitment can be expected initially? Can I be directly commissioned as an officer? If so, what rank would be possible with my 5 years of professional experience? Would I be able to bypass any of the initial training that consists of several weeks?

2. Does anyone know how the student loan repayment program works? Law school was not cheap, and the recruited I spoke with would not get very specific (I guess that's part of his job). I understand that there's a tiered scale under which they will repay UP TO $50,000 over 5 years.

3. I understand that an initial commitment is 6 years. I know that no one has a crystal ball, but any thoughts as to odds of deployment during this time span, assuming no new engagements for US forces?

Thanks for your help with these questions. I know that it would no doubt be a significant commitment, and I really appreciate your assistance.