Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about JAG

Hello,
    I was wondering if someone could give me some answers about the JAG, the local recruiter does not seem to know anything about JAG.

I am interested in the state guard or reserve, what are my chances of staying in my home state?

Could I bring my family with me to the officer training classes or where do you stay?

How much a month does a National guard/Reserve officer make a month, just a general idea when you first join?

What are my chances of being deployed (I know that no one really knows)?

I am a licensed attorney, and I have always wanted to be JAG, but I have a family member with a very serious illness and I do not want to be deployed or away from them as they need me.

I know this sounds winey, but prob the answers will be that I don't need to join, but I thought I would ask anyway.

Thanks in advance for any help/advice.

Re: Questions about JAG

Whatever state you commission in is the state you belong to. Only YOU can send yourself to another state.

You will stay on post in lodging designed for trainees(not sure where you actually will go). Generally if you want to bring your family it is at your own expense. This is usually not encouraged as you won't have time to really spend any off duty hours with them.

I believe JAG gets a direct commission to O-3 like those in the Medical Corps do, but I might be incorrect on that. In any case you can find out drill pay for officers here.