X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about being/becoming a commissioned officer and PT

Hey, I have a set of questions about something I've been thinking about; namely the relationship between my current MOS (11B) and being commissioned officer. I'm in the army national guard, 88 asvab score, and I ship out May 12th (2014). I'm a sophomore enrolled in ROTC at the university I go to, and plan to contract this coming up fall. Here's my list of questions/concerns:

I was informed that there's three types of officers after graduating from ROTC; intelligence, signal, and one more that I can't recall at the moment. 1) Would me being in 11B until I graduate college influence what kind of officer I may be in any way? I'm not really sure at all how it works.

2) Would I still have 11B as my mos if I do become a commissioned officer? I know it depends on the needs of the army, but would I have a choice in whether to have another mos or staying?

I don't have a problem with being in 11B; I've always had an interest in intelligence, using computer systems etc and wouldn't mind working in those areas.

3) After I contract with ROTC will I drill with other ROTC contractees who are also in 11B? Or will my unit be composed of ROTC contractees with different kinds of MOS's?

This is random, but I have a couple months until my ship date; 4) what kind(s) of push up/running/sit up workouts would anyone recommend? One friend in the AF reserves suggested I do 15 push ups every hour to increase my max (I do 30), another ex-army fella suggested I do 15 push ups, wait 2 minutes, 20push ups, 2min wait, 15, wait, and 15 again as a set every day. I haven't gotten any more-detailed running advice besides "do 2mile runs".

My post ended off in randomness since I thought of them as I typed haha, but there they are.

Your enlisted career will have no impact on what you are branched and there's quite a few more branches then just three.