Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steps to Success...Army Aviation Officer

Hello,

I am currently working with an awesome local recruiter to ,hopefully, navigate and position me for a successful attempt at becoming an Army Aviation Officer. A short bio, I am 28 years old, married with two boys. I was entry level separated from the Air Force Reserve during SF tech school for "asthma" which I never had (which has already been granted waiver by the Army and no longer an issue). I finally graduate form college this semester after literally being on the 10 year plan. I am a fixed wing commercial pilot with over 2000 hours, I presently fly the Phenom 100 and 300 as a First Officer or SIC, and I am upgrading the the King Air 90 as a PIC in February. I am comfortable in my career field, and with the amount of hiring due to retirements, I expect I will have a great civilian career. Needless to say, nobody is twisting my arm to join the military again...this is something that I want for me and my family. However, I want to make sure that I am absolutely doing everything that I can to be an Aviation Officer and not branch anything else (I accept the fact that I may not branch Aviation no matter what I do, but I want to put forth the ultimate effort to hopefully ensure my success). From my contacts within the Army, much of it will depend on slots available, rank in OCS, and timing; my civilian experience, while valuable, doesn't mean a whole lot to the Army.

I am hoping that there are some folks here with some experience to help me put my best foot forward. I want to make sure that there is nothing obvious that will hold me back from obtaining my goal, such as but not limited to, obtaining a Class 1A Flight Physical. I live and am applying in Texas.

I look forward to reading about others experience. Thanks for your time!

Happy Holidays!

Bakeek