Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMP Questions (2nd Bachelor's and SLRP)

Good evening! I am a current undergraduate student in the state of Florida considering joining the national guard with a 6 year contract and eventually participating in the SMP. I have two questions.

1. It is very likely that I will finish a bachelor's degree before I do this. I am pretty sure that you can do a master's degree on the SMP, but I do not know if you can do a second bachelor's degree on it. Is this possible?

2. I know that there are certain benefits that carry a specific obligation to the National Guard after ROTC, such as state tuition assistance, and others that don't, such as federal tuition assistance. I am interested in competing for an active duty spot, so I would like to know if the Student Loan Repayment Program carries such an obligation (I know the program stops when you become an SMP cadet, but I would like to know if I can get the first X% of my loans cancelled in this fashion).

Thank you for your time!

Your School's ROTC Recruiting/Scholarship Chair, State Officer Strength Manager, and NG Recruiter will have all the answers you seek. I promise they won't bite and will be happy to meet with you.
    ​If you don't get a good answer on here (doubtful because the MODS on here are amazing) please PM me and I'll do whatever I can to help you out.

Below is all first hand experience within the last 12 months. Obviously with new rules and regs this is subject to have been changed. To the best of my knowledge, this is accurate information.