X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traditional OCS attrition/drop out rate, and other questionse

First of all, thank you for your service.

A quick bit about myself: I am considering enlisting in the MA national guard with traditional state OCS in my contract. I have spoken with my recruiter. I am an attorney, and would have liked to pursue a JAG direct commission, but no slots are available in my region, so I am considering going for a commission "the old fashioned way:" basic then state OCS (I would be looking to do Military Intelligence or maybe Supply).

I have considered entering the military at every stage of my life, and regret not doing ROTC during college or seeking a commission after.

Now, I think the guard would be a good fit for where I am at in my life and career (I'm 26, will probably be 27 before first official PFT). I spoke with a recruiter, and he is giving a very rosy picture of OCS, and from my many friends in the military, I have a sense it's much harder than he's presenting it.

I asked him what the attrition or drop out rate was for state OCS: He says 1-2%. I have a hard time believing that 98-99 out of every 100 officer candidates finish OCS successfully. What were the failure rates like in your OCS classes? What were the common reasons for candidates to fail/drop? What happens if I fail?

I asked what kind of PFT scores I need, realistically, to be a competitive/successful officer candidate: He responded by telling me what I need before starting basic training, and then quoted the minimum passing PFT score. Can anyone tell me realistically, what I should be scoring on the PFT before starting this process (to basically not embarrass myself/be in the middle of the pack).