X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Becoming an officer

Hello, I have an interest in becoming an officer with the national guard, but I need more information. I will complete AIT in March 2014 with the national guard. I have an associate's degree in administration of justice. In your opinion, should I finish out my bachelor's degree on my own or enroll in ROTC? As an officer, will I be able to work/drill close to home? Is becoming an officer worth it or should I just stay with the rank of E-4 after completing my bachelor's degree. Any suggestions/answers are helpful. Thank you.

These are some good questions, without really good answers that we can provide. Should you finish your bachelors degree on your own or ROTC, that is something only you can answer. There are pro's and con's to both. For this one specifically I would get a hold of an ROTC cadre or a recruiter to discuss the merits of each. I'm not totally familiar with that aspect, so I won't discuss it. When it comes to drilling close to home, that is something we can't answer. My unit is 20 minutes from my house, but one of my fellow graduates has to drive 2+ hrs to get to his drilling location. That was where he was sloted when he graduated from OCS. You don't get to choose where you are assisgned for the most part and even if your first assignment is very close by, nothing to say that your next one will be.

Is becoming an officer worth it. It was to me, and many others, but is it worth it to you? Only you can answer that. ROTC has its merits and so does traditional and fast track OCS programs. They are all fairly hard and potentially very rigorous, but is it worth it to you? I don't know, is it? You can be leader as a SGT or as a LT, but it is up to you whether you want to be more hands on and with the troops, or conducting planning meetings and long term objectives. Once again, pro's and con's to each.