X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question regarding SMP

I am a sophomore in college who is currently enlisting in the Guard. I am switching from the enlisting process of a different branch and have already undergone a physical & taken ASVAB, so all I need to do is an inspect physical at MEPS and then contract. So I could enter the RSP as early as this semester, or so the recruiter says.

My question is, I know that I can request a slot for BCT for this next summer, but is it possible to skip the spring semester and instead try to complete both BCT & AIT? AIT length will depend on the MOS of course, but I will select specialties which could mean for a total time spent in BCT + AIT of 8-9 months, or maybe even less. My goal is to come back to college by next fall, be eligible for GI bill benefits, and also contract with my battalion as an SMP cadet in the advanced course. My understanding is that completing BCT means that one can skip the general military course (MS1 & MS2) and completion of AIT makes one eligible to receive the GI bill benefits.

Does this plan seem feasible or no?
    Last edited by Invoker83; September 7th, 2013, 07:13 AM.

Re: Question regarding SMP

Absolutely. It's generally whati s preferred. However, understand that you do take a risk, sometimes classes in AIT are backed up, and you can be what's called a "holdunder" and sometimes wait a couple weeks to a month to start AIT upon graduation of BCT. They do their best to be cognizant of those kinds of issues however. Infantry, Artillery, and Armor are generally the best ways to avoid that problem altogether. But if you have your heart set on a specific MOS do that if you can; you'll generally be more successful.

Comment

Disregard the above answer.