Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enlisting -> OCS Flow and Fitness

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I'm an active duty prior service Marine from 2001-2006, I also joined the Air Force Reserve and was activated from 2008 - 2011. Long and short of it I kept losing my enlisted aviation MOS and decide to go back to college. Now I'm all most done with college and I am considering commissioning in the Army Guard here in Kentucky. Initially I was thinking it would be a long process to get started and that I'd get the ball rolling in about a year, however the recruiter and the 1LT here seem to want to step that up to a month or so.

That being said I've let myself go fitness wise over the years, I've been doing CrossFit for a couple months now and I've lost 30 lbs during that time and I'm down to 228, I'm 6' 2" and 31 yoa so my weight needs to 199 per the regs I could find. Also I have doubts on if I could past the APFT right now let alone score a 300+, which seems to be what most OCS candidates on these forums seem to state they had going into the program.

So question one, I read that Phase 0 includes physical preparation, which I'm assuming occurs after you enlist and await OCS. Do you need to be able meet the APTF standards before entering this phase or is this the preparation phase to get you there or beyond? Personally I feel with 6 more months of CrossFit between here and March I'll be able to pass if not hit the 300+ APFT score, but sure as hell not next month.

Question two, anyone on here NOT have 300+ APFT score and go to OCS? If so how was it physically? I made it through Marine boot camp and SERE school twice on top of combat water survival, so I can push through a lot of the mental games, those don't worry me.

Lastly, if given the choice, would you recommend waiting another year to work on fitness before joining?

Thank you all for taking the time to read this and answering my question!

Semper Fi