X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Becoming an officer

Can someone explain the process of becoming a NG Officer in Ohio? I'm having a hard time finding the information. Do you have to apply and go in front of a board similar to the Army? I have a bachelors in accounting with a 3.56 GPA and I take the ASVAB on Tuesday, which I'm not worried about scoring 110 on the GT. My only real issue is that I am 5'9 200lbs (26% body fat), so I have about 20 pounds to lose. I can pass the PT though (is that required like it is for Army OCS?). I did 60 pushups in 2 minutes, 60 situps in 2 minutes, and a 15:00 2-mile recently. Not the best right now, but after basic I would be fine.

To go in a little more detail: I've recently met with an Army recruiter and really want to include the SLRP in my package, but currently Army Reserves is only offering SLRP to enlisted members. I don't want to enlist if I don't have to, but the SLRP is tempting. My heart is with being an officer though. He also told me I that officer's in the NG are on a state level and have a hard time transferring to active duty Army, but I've read elsewhere that isn't true.

So, any advice and explanation of the process would be very helpful!
    Last edited by heathp123; August 22nd, 2013, 08:51 PM.

Re: Becoming an officer

Go speak with an active duty recruiter and tell him you want to go 09s.....

In 4 years you'd be making 88K a year.

Comment

Originally posted by Chaplain4me View Post

But what's the process? Do I just enlist with 09S as my job and nothing else to it? I'm worried about my weight. My body fat is enough to pass the tape test for Army Reserve enlisted. I'm just curious what I need to do to apply. Like in the Army, you meet with a board, have to pass PT BEFORE you apply, and meet 22% body fat for officer. I'm certain I could do all of that after basic.

Comment