X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Round of MI Branch Questions

I would like to greet everyone and thank all of you ahead of time for your advice and information!

I'll start off with a little bit of back ground information, I am currently an E-3 in the NCNG and my MOS is 11B, I am a student with a really strong GPA, and currently enrolled in ROTC. I have been doing a lot of searching through this forum and Google for more specific answers and mostly what I've found have been pieces of partial and often times contradicting information. Also to clarify I am interested in commissioning Military Intelligence on the AD side not for the NG, but I'm positing my questions here due to the fact that I'm currently in the Guard and the forums here always seem to give the most clear answers. With all that being said I'll get to the questions:

1. How competitive are MI Branch Slots compared to Infantry Branch Slots? All of the MSIII/MSIV's I know always talk about how competitive Infantry Slots are so I feel like it's a good base point for comparison.

2. How long is MIOBC? As simple of a question as this sounds, I've heard 4 months, 6 months, and all the way up to a year. Any clarification would be greatly appreciated!

3. Is MIOBC accompanied or unaccompanied by your spouse? I've read the West Point Information document that states MIOBC is meant to be an unaccompanied TDY, yet I've read where some people say it's actually a PCS due to length of training. I've also been on Fort Huachuca's Facebook page where I've seen numerous 2LT's in MIOBC stating that they have housing on/off post with their spouse's does anyone here actually know if it's alright to move your spouse for MIOBC now?