Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ARNG - Considering Joining - Need Answers!

Hi Everyone.

I apologize if some of my questions and concerns have been answered in other threads. I have spent hours reading through as much as possible and would like to post my questions at this point.

I am in the beginning stages (just spoke to a recruiter a few days ago) of pursuing a 35F position at my local unit here (in Utah). I have a Bachelors and Masters degree and would prefer to join as an Officer. My primary question is; if I join as an Officer, is my job (35F) guaranteed prior to actually joining and shipping to Basic?

Also, many threads have talked about Officers having much more of a commitment then the usual "one weekend a month, two weeks a year" situation. Can you experienced Officers elaborate on that a bit more (i.e. is it more like two weekends a month, or 3-4 days at a time, etc?).

I hope my questions are clear. I want to make sure I have all (or most) of the details settled before I make a decision. I have an excellent civilian career, married, and not strapped financially or career wise - so I would really be doing this just to serve, learn additional skills in an area of interest, and at some point, lead soldiers under whatever capacity necessary.

Re: ARNG - Considering Joining - Need Answers!

A position as an officer is not guaranteed. It's highly dependent upon openings in units as every unit only needs a few officers compared to the amount of enlisted. If your state has a good officer strength manager they will be able to assist you in finding open slots. It's also good to find any intel units in your area and talk to their command about openings and what they're looking for.