X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OCS Debate

Hey everyone, I want to thank you for being so helpful to me during the registration process. This forum is invaluable! As of today I am set to swear in on May 29th as an 09s and am seeking some last minute advice...

A little about myself, I graduated in 2009 with a BA in Business Marketing/ Management and I went back for some post graduate work in Geography. I currently work full time as an Energy Management Analyst. My wife and I recently married in October last year and we are looking to set some life goals together while helping ease the financial burden of student loans. Serving has been on my heart for several years and now seems like the best time to jump in.

What I have gathered so far in this process is that for degree holders, enlisted vs OCS, is a personal decision. Its one I've wrestled with extensively. The vast majority of people have recommended, with out blinking, OCS. It has better pay and fewer people to tell you what to do. The folks I've spoken with who are or who have served, that enlisted, all said the same. The difference with them was that they didn't regret for as second their decision to enlist, degree or not.

I highly value gaining the hands on experience and doing "the job" prior to managing it. I think its fundamental. The problem is, with the benefits that come with an officer, that may be the best decision for my family. I'm also trying to consider the fact that I dont have much leadership experience but want to get the tools to change that. I think there is only so much research one can do before just having to go experience it; so Im left with a few questions:

1. Would you say that certain personality types are more likely to succeed as an officer?
    2. Is it fairly easy to make the jump to OCS after enlisting?