X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BOLC options?

I am a student currently. I should have 90 credit hours at the end of this semester to enlist under the O9s designation so I have a lot of time to think about BOLC and the smartest options after OCS. So basically what my question is: Is there really any control over where you end up going to for BOLC? For instance if I'm top of my class (is there "top of the class"?) do I get preference or is it mostly based off of your state's needs? (I understand that if the state doesn't need a designation it doesn't need it but is it just a numbers game or does performance play a roll?) Or do you need to get friendly with the higher ups for referrals? Any input on how this process works would be great. This honestly seems like an annoying question reading it back to myself but I'm just trying to figure out if I should get my hopes up to end up somewhere specific. I understand you pick your top three but I know you aren't guaranteed anything. I come from a military family and have wanted to serve my entire life so don't mistake this post for some college brat looking to get his way. I'm just trying to gauge where my head should be walking into this and get a little more clarity on this process. Thank you all for your time.

Re: BOLC options?

Ultimately, your assignment is a function of the needs of your State. Not all states have all types of assignments, and at any given time not all of those positions have vacancies.

In practice, the needs of the state don't necessarily conflict with your preferences. While I don't know your state, or its personnel situation, I can state that National Guardsmen as a group have far more influence over their own assignments than our colleagues on active duty.