X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New on the Forum

Hi everyone, I have been poking around the forum for a few weeks now and have finally joined, as I am scheduled to swear-in here in April! I look forward to helping others with my experiences in the ARNG and learning from yours as well!

Me: Im married, and we have a daughter who is 2. (Pride and Joy)

My 'Stats': have my 4-year degree in Sociology/ Criminal Justice, am a Colorado Notary, and have no idea how to calculate my PT score (Qualified?)

What I do: I work as a deputy in my county, and have learned more than I ever thought I would about people and how to deal with them. (Frustrating at Times)

Our Co-Inhabitants: Besides our daughter, we have 2 cats and a German Shepherd mix who likes to think he owns the place. (See above tag line )

Our History: When I met my wife almost 6 years ago, she gave me the itch (why do i see this getting mis-quoted? ) to serve in the military and I have been looking into it ever since. The main reason I am not Active Duty, is because our daughter has a life-threatening illness -a rare form of liver disease requiring transplant- and therefore moving from CO is not something we want to do (Childrens Hospital is Fantastic).

Where I'm going: I just got the news from my recruiter that my slot at FEDOCS has been reserved and I go down to Ft Benning in 2014. I will be swearing this April and be headed to BCT no later than July 15th to hit the fiscal year cut off October. (2LT Bound!)

Feel free to ask me questions as I will be doing the same of you!

Re: New on the Forum

The thing that will help you as NG in FEDOCS is that you won't have to compete on the Order of Merit List (OML) for your branch, because you should more than likely have a branch slot reserved for you before you ship to Benning School for Boys.