X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Officer vs. Enlisted help.

I'm 29, I have my Associate's and Bachelor's Degree and scored high enough on the ASVAB to participate in the Guard OSC program. I'm looking to change careers and get into the technology field. I was wondering whether to go enlisted and go through the signal 25B (AIT) and after completion try OCS or just go to OCS right away. I'm just curious if the signal 25B course gives me enough training and skills for the civilian world and if the accrediations earned through AIT are accepted in the civilian world? On the other hand I want to gain the most from my Guard experience and wanted to know if it would more beneficial to go straight to OSC after basic, for faster advancement during my Guard Career. If anyone can give me some advice/insight into this it would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Re: Officer vs. Enlisted help.

Chief Kemosabe is the guy to talk to on Signal related experience.

Comment

If you're looking to gain technical skills that the civilian market values, then stay enlisted for a few years in the 25-series jobs. You might also consider pursuing service as a Warrant Officer, which will take several years of hard work and dedication.

Comment

I went straight OCS from Basic and branched 25A. From the officer side the SBOLC (the officer version of AIT) gave me a decent overview of the equipment that is used in todays' army. Some of the things I learned can be directly transfered to the civilian world (I earned a Security+ cert while there), but a lot of the material is very army centric such as Radios and Antenna types and so forth. It gives a good overview of what your soldiers will be working on and the terminology that is used, but will be no means make you an expert.