Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chances of becoming an Officer in the Texas National Guard?

I am 30 and have a pretty decent job. However, I have always wanted to join the military, and I'm not getting any younger. The Guard seems like a good fit for me and I don't mind being deployed as I'm not married and don't have kids. I could likely always return to my job anyways. I have a Bachelors degree in Criminal Justice and have had employment since graduating.

What can I do to maximize my chances of being accepted as an officer? It looks like the ASVAB is clearly important. Is there anything else I can do? I stay in good shape so the physical part will be no problem. How likely is it for someone to be accepted as an officer into the Texas National Guard?

Thanks for any help.
    Last edited by Deuce; March 19th, 2013, 07:14 PM.

Re: Chances of becoming an Officer in the Texas National Guard?

Originally posted by Deuce View Post
    I am 30 and have a pretty decent job. I have always wanted to joing the military, and I'm not getting any younger. The Guard seems like a good fit for me and I don't mind being deployed as I'm not married and don't have kids. I have a Bachelors degree in Criminal Justice and have had employment since graduating.

What can I do to maximize my chances of being accepted as an officer? It looks like the ASVAB is clearly important. Is there anything else I can do? I stay in good shape to the physical part will be no problem. How likely is it for someone to be accepted as an officer into the Texas National Guard?

Thanks for any help.
    If you meet all of the requirements and they're currently recruiting officers, your chances of getting contracted are about 100%. After that you'll have to make it through all the required training, but OCS ain't that hard. You'll be fine.

Comment