Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how does rotc work for current college students?

Hello everyone, I'm currently a freshman at a private university which offers a national guard rotc scholarship. I'm very interested in this for a few reasons, but the main ones are the ability to commission as an officer while earning my degree and the tuition assistance. My question is whether or not I have to enlist to do rotc under scholarship. It is my understanding that students who receive a scholarship during senior year of high school do not have to enlist, and I've heard about people compressing the first 2 years into sophomore year or attending basic after freshman year to make up for the first year missed. I'm not trying to avoid enlisting, and I am still considering enlisting and going to bct this summer, but I am simply trying to lay out all my options and figure out the best way to reach my goal as an officer. Also, the guard website mentions 2 distinct rotc scholarships, one of which requires SMP and the other just recommends it (these are 2 and 3 year scholarships, so wouldn't that imply I can attain one while in college?)

Thank you for the help!

Re: how does rotc work for current college students?

Why don't you talk to your school's ROTC department about these questions? They'll be the most qualified to answer them.

Comment

What do you want to accomplish, and what are your priorities?

You say you want all the options, but that's a huge waste of time, since the vast majority of options available are ones that you don't want. Let's figure out what you do want, and then figure out the two or three ways to get there.

Comment