X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to expect with OCS

I'm a teacher in Wisconsin seriously considering joining the National Guard. Since I have a Bachelor's Degree, my recruiter suggested enlisting and completing OCS. I think the knowledge and leadership skills I gain would help me become a better teacher and advance me professionally. I'm 30 years-old and married with two kids. I've always wanted to serve my country and when I was younger I had seriously contemplated joining, but never did.

Anyway, I'm looking for clarification, suggestions, advice, etc. about what to expect or consider in joining the National Guard and following the OCS route.

1. My meeting with the OCS recruiter is in the next week or so. What should I do to prepare for my interview with him/her?

2. If I enlist, is the timeline of events (as I understand them) correct?
    - Attend RSP until BCT this summer (where I and other recruits train for BCT)
    - BCT this summer
    - After BCS, more RSP until OCS starts in Spring 2014
    - OCS replaces RSP for drill/2 weeks of training for 15 months
    - Receive commission Summer 2015
    - Attend Officer specialty training (I'm pretty uninformed about this aspect) somewhere for 4 months or so

3. I want to start a Master's program while in the Guard. The program I really want to participate in starts at the end of this month, possibly before I would enlist. The program coordinator believes I can still complete it even with the Guard obligations. If I began taking classes before enlisting, would the Guard still pay the tuition?

4. How early would I deploy? I know that it's highly likely and my wife and I are planning on it happening. I haven't been able to determine how early it would happen.

Thanks everyone for your help/clarifications.

Re: What to expect with OCS