X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering becoming a officer, with just a few questions

First off, I am a Senior about to graduate in May, getting my bachelors degree. I plan on enlisting within a few weeks in the Guard. I also plan on going to Basic Training about a week after I graduate, around May 12th or so, so that I can be done around the first week in August. I want to go to Grad school so i didnt want to miss any classes if I go this fall.

Since im considering becoming a officer I want to do the Accelerated (55day) OCS next summer in 2014, then Bolc-B the following summer in 2015. Hopefully being done becoming a officer around the same time i get my Masters.

I was wondering if anyone sees any problems with this, meaning would i be able to just do everything in a summers time.
    Also where can I find out how long my Bolc-B potentially could be, because i dont want to miss school. I know about this https://www.atrrs.army.mil/atrrscc/search.aspx site, but when i search for Officer AOC courses, some of them are like 2 weeks, and i dont think thats a right description on how long i will be gone.

I know this post is kind of everywhere, but im looking for more information about Bolc-B lengths and jobs. I dont want to be away from my family, girlfriend and possibly grad school for too long, meaning more than 10 or so weeks in the summer.

Anyone have any thoughts or answers?

Re: Considering becoming a officer, with just a few questions

You're being very optimistic with your timeline. While you may get BCT in the summer (if you wait too long, the seats will be all booked), you're probably going to attend the traditional version of OCS and you might get BOLC during the summer without missing any classes.

The reason your search isn't working in ATTRS is OCS is broken up into Phases and candidates are input and approved for each phase.

Comment