Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Enlistment with intent to apply for OCS, or 09S?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Enlistment with intent to apply for OCS, or 09S?

Hello all. This is my first time posting a question on these forums. Excited to learn from your collective experience!

Recently I have started considering service with the Army National Guard. I am posting here in an effort to gather the rest of the information I need to make my decisions responsibly. In the end, I would like to serve as an Officer. However, I’m trying to decide on my specific path; Enlistment (Advanced Paygrade of E-4) with intent to apply for OCS after a couple years of NCO service, or 09S OCS Option.

To paint a little bit of a picture, I am a 27 year old male with a 4 year engineering degree. I believe I would score about a 275 APFT today, and I am sure I could get myself to a 300 APFT before shipping to BCT. I am not prior service. My motivations are simple; Service to my State/Nation, and Leadership Development. Any part time pay I would receive with the ARNG is not really a huge deal for me, to be honest. I’m more concerned with the journey.

So why would a degreed engineer be considering Enlistment first before applying to OCS? Two reasons:

1) I don’t want to miss out on valuable experience as an NCO that might serve to make me a better junior Officer.