X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 09S training timeline questions...

I have searched the forum and can not find an answer to my question. I have a bachelors' degree and would like to enlist as an 09S and eventually branch infantry in either massachusetts or new hampshire. What is the length of time I would be away from home, work, etc? I saw that basic is 8 weeks, accelerated OCS is 8 weeks, infantry bolc is 8 weeks, am I on the right track with the lengths for each portion? If there are any infantry officers reading this, I would really appreciate any insight or possible mentoring, this is something I really want. Thank you!

Re: 09S training timeline questions...

Depends on how long you sit around. I enlisted in February, shipped to basic in June, went directly from there to federal OCS in August, graduated there in November..

So I was gone from June to November. That being said, I didn't do accelerated OCS in either of the states you mentioned, so our times may vary.

Infantry officers school is just under over threes months.

Basic is also about 10 weeks. Accelerated doesn't take into account the lag time between classes starting, etc. lots of variables come into play.

Comment

Federal OCS, which I'm at now, is 12 weeks. I'm not sure if NH or MA sends 09S to the Federal program---I know there aren't any here from either state now---but I would really try to go this way, if your goal to commission as soon as possible. With FOCS, you're guaranteed to go to BCT --> OCS consecutively. With the traditional or accelerated program, you'll have a delay between Basic and OCS. Also, IBOLC is 16 weeks, not 8. So, going this route, at a minimum, you'll be out of work for 38 weeks until you're branch qualified (10 weeks BCT + 12 weeks FOCS + 16 weeks IBOLC). Also, be aware that your state may not guarantee you a particular branch when you enlist, so your BOLC length will vary depending on what branch you get.

Comment